Art.


Well.

After the horror of my undergraduate degree, I’m actually considering going back for a MA. Not to Leeds Uni, dear gods, no! But Winchester is looking attractive. I’ve been a bit anti-art of late, thanks to the shit time I had at Leeds and haven’t really produced anything since just before the degree show. This is probably the longest I’ve ever gone without producing art. A couple of weeks ago, I was asked to draw an interpretation of a character from a new and as yet unpublished comic. That’s it, to the right, there.
Thing is, I don’t draw, or paint. I got through an entire Fine Art Degree without having to do either, which suits me fine. Annoyingly, it’s made me realise how much I miss producing art.

The plan was to do an MA after a couple of years working, so that I could save up a bit and get my head straight. With fees set to rocket, I have little option to do it pretty much straight away. I can’t afford to do it at £3K p.a., let alone £9K. SO if ‘m going to do it, the time is now.

More sonic art is likely. I found my niche there and with the exception of Motet for 40 voices and Phil Hardings silences, most sonic art – including the piece at the Tate Modern – is pretty lacking. I’ve also go this mad plan including Clash of the Titans and too much velour. And some animation stuff reducing big budget, high CGI movies to matchstick men.

But the big issue is funding. How the hell do I go about funding an MA? Answers on a postcard, please…

Leave a Reply

