Death Dentist*

I’ve had a terrible time with my teeth of late.

Before I went to university, I got my teeth sorted as I knew I wouldn’t be able to afford dental care while I was a student. I had so many fillings and root canals it was unreal.

Fast forward one year after university and my face is exploding. Turns out that my previous dentist was a bit of a cowboy. On my back four teeth on the right side, he did the unthinkable and half filled and half crowned them all. Apparently, you only either fill or crown them. One or the other. The reason you don’t do both is that bacteria will grow on the join between the crown and filling and essentially cause a huge build up of pressure and disease. My gums are in a right state. On the other side of my face, he attempted to do a root canal on a tooth that, apparently, you are not suppose to be able to do a root canal on.

Anyway, I lost a filling some time ago. Finally got round to seeing the dentist about an and as soon as he saw my teeth he said ‘you saw Dr.”X”, didn’t you?’ My previous dentists notoriety precedes him. I have what could be a two year programme of dentistry to correct the mistakes made by this asshole. The majority of this ‘fixing’ is likely to be the removal of the teeth. I had the first one out on thursday.

It didn’t go well. Apart from the remainder of the tooth having micro fractures that mean the tooth shattering as it was pulled leading to most of it being drilled, the root was hooked, so when it was finally pulled, it tore my gum open. Yay stitches! And the gum remaining, despite two different antibiotics, has become infected and is throwing out pints of pus from the wound. My mouth is a place of joy. I feel constantly sick and the pain and bleeding that would ‘last a few hours’ is about to start it’s third day.

Oy!

Cheer me up you bastards!!!

*with apologies to the Jazz Butcher

Leave a Reply

