Random wibblings mostly about weight loss.

Still losing weight.   I”m down by 34lbs now.   Still a fatty, but…

Anyway, I go to Leeds a lot, which is a 5 hour journey by car from Southampton.

I don’t drive, so I just sit there – my job as navigator taken from me by a Satnav; I feel like Sigourney Weaver in “Galaxy Quest”, dammit!

Since losing so much weight, I’ve lost a lot of the padding I had on my bum. Five hours on a fleshy tuccus isn’t that much of a chore but, even though my bum can’t yet be called ‘boney’, my god, I’ve noticed a difference to the levels of comfort.

After a couple of hours, I was screaming for a break, just so I could stand up and take the pressure off my rapidly diminishing butt….

Weight loss isn’t all fun you know! 🙂


***


You sort of expect that weight loss will cause you to have to go shopping for new clothes, right?

Well, that’s not really happening as I”ve not got much in the way of cash at the moment, so I look like I”m dressed in flags at the minute… not to worry.

The weird thing is that my shoe size has also changed. It never occurred to me that losing so much weight would change the size of my feet. I mean, feet are feet, right?

Wrong! I’m now a size 10 whereas I used to be 11.5. 

Fat feet. 

Weird.



***

I’ve also recently discovered the joys of tofu. I used to eat it back when I was vegan (enforced, not by choice) but love my chinese food has taken over.  So a plate full of stir fried veggies (the barest splot of oil and steam with xiaoxing and light soy sauce) with a hand full of chopped tofu is wonderful.

Speaking of chinese food, has anyone sen the Gok Wan show about chinese food? Amazing! I got the book and it is such a healthy cuisine! Making lots from the book.



***
I had something of an experience at the weekend.
My partner and I love Hound Tor on Dartmoor. Apart from it being a truly beautiful piece of landscape, it has associations with both Doctor Who and Sherlock Holmes. it also has a ruin of a mediaeval village at the base which holds particular memories for me. So really, it’s a win win place to be.

The thing is, the last few times we’ve been up there, it’s taken a good 40 minutes to get to the top. It’s not far; it’s not particularly steep. However, with all the weight I was carrying, I had to stop ever few minutes in order to catch my breath.

This time, we got from base to summit in 12 minutes. Non-stop. Okay, I was breathless when we hit the top, but it only took a minute or so to get my breath and carry on. We even climbed the really rocky bits to get to a hitherto unexplored because of exhaustion. Then we ran down the Tor to escape the rain. 

It wasn’t till we’d got back to the car that we realised how much progress I had made.

Marvellous.



EVIDENCE!!!


Picture one: taken 11 years ago before the huge weight gain. I put about a stone on after this was taken.  Notice the leather jacket, straining a the stomach and notice that the zip has torn from the strain.

Picture 2: taken last weekend 

Same jacket, same tear, but…notice how it’s wrapped round?

Oh yes.   It’s going! 

I went to Sainsbury’s at the weekend and got a basket.   I filled it with 68 x half pound packs of lard.  Thats what I was carry around all the time.   No wonder I was constantly in pain and knackered…

Leave a Reply

