More running Shenanigans . . .

I dunno.  I got quite despondent this week.  THis NHS course has me in pieces.  I’ve been stuck on week 5 for a while and I’m still not convinced that I can do the final part yet.

It’s split into three runs of different intensities instead of one run three times.  The three blocks of 5 minutes was doable; the two blocks of 8 minutes less so.  I did okay last friday; a couple of wobbles, but otherwise okay.  I had planned to do the 8 minute blocks on Monday and tuesday and do 5.3 today.  

However, Monday was terrible.   Whether it was a pacing issue or not, I don’t know, but 2 minutes in, I could barely breathe.  I had to stop.  A minute later, I started up again and finished the run.  I wasn’t happy.

Wednesday was worse.  I stopped three times during the run, all three times because I simply couldn’t breathe. Maybe it was because of the migraine coming on, but I’d like to think not.

I lost wednesday afternoon and Thursday to said migraine.

Friday was a whole different prospect.  I absolutely sailed through it. Yes, I was a bit breathless at the end, but that’s sort of the point.  Got a real sense of achievement today. Marvellous.

Now, I”m not really sure what to do next. Run 5.3 looks appalling. Whereas each of the previous weeks have increased the run time in small increments, 5.3 ups the runtime from 8 minutes to 20.  TO me that seems like a hell of a leap and one that seems doomed to failure.

I’m wondering whether I should just do it and walk the bits where I can no longer run, or whether I should do some “intermediate” runs to build me up to it.  I guess if the 20 minutes doesn’t work out, I can do the lead in stuff . . .

Hmmmm…

2 thoughts on “More running Shenanigans . . .

  1. That’s great that you got through run 2 in the end. I reckon there’s no harm in trying run 3. Just keep a slower pace than usual and see how you go. As you say, you can walk for parts of it if it gets too much. I’m doing the same run tomorrow and have no idea if I’ll be able to do the 20 minutes or not, but there’s no harm in trying. Good luck! 🙂

    • I’m not speedy at the best of times….but I’ll see how it goes.
      All in all, 20 mins isn’t *that* long…to suffer horribly . . . 🙂

      Good luck tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

