You Can’t Go Home Again.

banner-skylineYou know I love Sheffield, right?

The longer it is between visits, the more difficult it is to go back.  This is essentially because I know I can’t stay.  I miss the place and the people and just the Sheffieldy vibe. There’s an attitude; a feeling that is uniquely Sheffield.  Even though it’s in a much diminished state – the City Centre is frankly a disgrace and the council should be ashamed of themselves – it is still Sheffield.   It’s home. I haven’t lived there since 1997 and still miss it like mad.   I have to remind myself that a lot of the things I loved about Sheffield no longer exist in order to lessen the sting but even that doesn’t stop me wanting to return to my adopted homes.

Ordinarily, I don’t like “list” poems, but I tried writing one about how much I loved the place and it got a bit . . . purple. So I went down the other route: Shameless Nostalgia.

So a list it is.

You Can’t Go Home Again

Radford Street
Castle Square
Gaumont
Limit
Hallamshire

*
Raven
George the IV
The Hive
Wapentake
Mr Kites

*
Rare and Racy
Kelvin Flats
Cossack
Anvil
Merlin
Jacks

*

Crucible Red Cup
The Drop
The Cult of Toms
The Wilde Club

*

Goodwin Fountain
Psalter Lane
Impulse
Hanrahans
And Jane

*
Rebels
Bring It All Back Home
Moony
Mozaz
Kitson
Gone

*

Cheery, huh?

Anyway check out http://aswiftexit.wordpress.com for more cool poetry.

Leave a Reply

