Riverdale: S1E2

716263-riverdale(2)_828x1104.pngAfter the shock of seeing a modern grimy and less than  wholesome Riverdale yesterday, I’m returning to to Teen Peaks (yes, I’ve decided that’s what it is at the moment, get used to it) with a slightly different attitude.

And I enjoyed it all the more.

Riverdale is an extraordinary show. Yes, it has it’s roots in the Archie Comics, but this is a whole ‘nother other!

While there is an element of High School TV cliche in some parts, there is enough drama and threats of oddness to see it through. Here we learn that Jughead and Archie’s relationship is on the rocks, but no one will say why. Things are learned about the body that are deeply unsavoury, Archie may have to blow his cover and ruin his music teachers career. Betty and Veronica may not be friends, Cherry is a bitch and Josie and the Pussycats . . . do an absolutely blinding version of Sugar Sugar. Which is great, but Archie should be doing that really, what with his burgeoning music career and all.

What’s changed? Well, the shock of the character changes is beginning to subside and I’m beginning to warm to most of the ones I’m supposed to warm to and dislike the ones I’m supposed to dislike. I guess this is good.

Me being me, I’m intrigued to see what happens with Kevin and Moose and how that is handled, but although I know this – or something similar – happened in the comics, this is out of my wholesome naive comfort zone for Archie comics.

I like the way Jughead is being set up for something, and intrigued as to why he narrates – apart from being a writer, there’s little reason for him to be the voice of the series – yet. but the oddest thing about it is that I don’t really remember much happening when it isn’t dark. Is Riverdale above the Arctic circle? I doubt it bearing in mind Archie ran through town in nothing but his jockeys, so the constant darkness, given the 1950’s irradiated four colour glow of the comics, is a bit distracting.

But as the series progresses, I’m able to further divorce myself from the comics and enjoy it for what it is. I’m still not entirely sure exactly *what* it is, but it’s a hell of a ride finding out.

The murder mystery is quite intriguing and I’m looking forward to that not being what it seems. I can’t believe that ***** gave herself up quite so readily and publicy without something else being at work.

My big concern, though is this: This is Riverdale. Sabrina the Teenage Witch is an integral part of Riverdale. Where is she? Okay, it’s a very different feel to the rest of the universe, but she should at least be represented here. Probably in some post-modern barely recognisable version, be she should be there.  The closest we had is Madchen Amick waving some sage/smudge around to dispel the house of evil spirits, so the spiritual world isn’t entirely alien to the TV Riverdale.

Of course, her arrival may trigger the ‘Afterlife with Archie’ stories which would be amazing! If catastrophic.

I’d guess that would be a final series finale, though.

i can’t wait for episode 3!

 

Leave a Reply

